Generally speaking, the being removed users will not see any difference from your profile after you removed them.
They will be able to send you letters as usual but actually those letters will not arrive your inbox. The status of those letters will be always unread. Also, they will be able to read all the previously exchanged letters and your profile as normal. So basically, they will not know whether you have removed them.